Chairs, CAOs and Directors

Find contact information for the chair, director or administrator in a department or program at the College of Letters and Science.


African American and African Studies

Nicelma King

Chair

njking@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-3863 

Carlos Garcia

CAO

ccgarcia@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0675

American Studies

Charlotte Biltekoff

Chair

cbiltekoff@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-2332 

Carlos Garcia

CAO

ccgarcia@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0675

Anthropology

Lynne Isbell

Chair

laisbell@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-9718

Erum Syed

CAO

esyed@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-9036

Art and Art History

Annabeth Rosen

Chair (Art Studio)

arosen@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-1794

Talinn Grigor

Chair (Art History)

tgrigor@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-2611

Karen Nofziger

CAO

knofziger@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0138

Asian American Studies

Richard Kim

Chair

rskim@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-2069

Carlos Garcia

CAO

ccgarcia@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0675

California Lighting Technology Center

Michael Siminovitch

Director

mjsiminovitch@ucdavis.edu

(530) 747-3835

Konstantinos Papamichael

Co-Director

kpapamichael@ucdavis.edu

(530) 747-3834

Karen Nofziger

CAO

knofziger@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0138

Center for Mind and Brain

Steven Luck

Director

sjluck@ucdavis.edu

(530) 297-4424

Amanda Guyer

Associate Director

aeguyer@ucdavis.edu

(530) 297-4445

Carmina Caselli

CAO

crcaselli@ucdavis.edu

(530) 297-4652

Center for Poverty Research

Marianne Page

Director

mepage@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-1529

Ann Stevens

Deputy Director

annstevens@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-3034

Kathy Miner

CAO

keminer@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0760

Jessica Harold

Manager

jwharold@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0401

Center for Science and Innovation Studies

Mario Biagioli

Director
(on sabbatical
until January 2018)

mbiagioli@ucdavis.edu

(510) 495-7324

Carmina Caselli

CAO

crcaselli@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-6215

Chemistry

Ting Guo

Chair

tguo@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-5283

Neil Schore

Vice Chair neschore@ucdavis.edu (530) 752-6263

Jessica Potts

CAO jrpotts@ucdavis.edu (530) 752-3988

Chicana/Chicano Studies

Carlos Jackson

Chair

cfjackson@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-4782

Carlos Garcia

CAO

ccgarcia@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0675

Cinema and Digital Media

Michael Neff

Chair

mpneff@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-9510

Karen Nofziger

CAO

knofziger@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0138

Classics

Carey Seal

Director

cseal@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0835 

Heavenly Clegg

CAO

hlclegg@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-6078

Cognitive Science

David Corina

Director

dpcorina@ucdavis.edu

(530) 297-4421

Carmina Caselli

CAO

crcaselli@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-6215

Communication

Robert Bell

Chair

rabell@ucdavis.edu

Jessie Murray

CAO

jesmurray@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-2183

Comparative Literature

Sheldon Lu

Chair

shlu@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-8324

Heavenly Clegg

CAO

hlclegg@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-6078

Davis Language Center

Robert Blake

Director

rjblake@ucdavis.edu

(530) 219-8427 

Fuqiang Zhuo

Associate Director

fzhuo@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-8791

Design

Christina Cogdell

Chair

cgcogdell@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-7174

Karen Nofziger

CAO

knofziger@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0138

Design Museum and Collection

Timothy McNeil

Director

tjmcneil@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-2589

Karen Nofziger

CAO

knofziger@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0138

Earth and Planetary Sciences

Michael Oskin

Chair

meoskin@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-3993

David Osleger

Vice Chair

daosleger@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-7824

Corinne Esser

CAO

caesser@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-3668

East Asian Languages and Cultures

Beverly Bossler

Chair

bjbossler@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-3654

Heavenly Clegg

CAO

hlclegg@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-6078

East Asian Studies

Xiaoling Shu

Director

xshu@ucdavis.edu

(530) 554-1860

Kathy Miner

CAO

keminer@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0760

Economics

Giovanni Peri

Chair

gperi@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-0515

Kathy Miner

CAO

keminer@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0760

English

John Marx

Chair

jmarx@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-1696

Darla Tafoya

CAO

djtafoya@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-2269

French and Italian

Noah Guynn

Chair

ndguynn@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-8573

Heavenly Clegg

CAO

hlclegg@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-6078

Gender, Sexuality & Women’s Studies

Maxine Craig

Chair

mbcraig@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-8642

Carlos Garcia

CAO

ccgarcia@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0675

German and Russian

Sven-Erik Rose

Chair

serose@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0850

Heavenly Clegg

CAO

hlclegg@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-6078

C. N. Gorman Museum and Collection

Hulleah Tsinhnahjinnie

Director

tsinhnahjinnie@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0568

Carlos Garcia

CAO

ccgarcia@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0675

Hemispheric Institute on the Americas

Charles Walker

Director

cfwalker@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-9453

Kathy Miner

CAO

keminer@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0760

History

Edward Dickinson

Chair

erdickinson@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-1647

Andres Resendez

Vice Chair

aresendez@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-1649

Kathy Miner

CAO

keminer@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0760

UC Davis Humanities Institute

Jaimey Fisher

Director

jrfisher@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-4999

Darla Tafoya

CAO

djtafoya@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-2269

Humanities Program

Eric Russell

Director

erussell@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-1219

Heavenly Clegg

CAO

hlclegg@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-6078

Institute for Social Sciences

Marianne Bitler

Director (Interim)

bitler@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-1577

Vicky Austin

Assistant Director

vsaustin@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-1751

Kathy Miner

CAO

keminer@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0760

Jewish Studies

David Biale

Director

dbiale@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-1640

Kathy Miner

CAO

keminer@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0760

Linguistics

Raul Aranovich

Chair

raranovich@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-2291

Jessie Murray

CAO

jesmurray@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-2183

Mathematics

Abigail Thompson

Chair

thompson@math.ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-8092

Alex Soshnikov

Vice Chair

soshniko@math.ucdavis.edu

(530) 554-9486

Timothy Lewis

Vice Chair

tlewis@math.ucdavis.edu

(530) 554-9394

Gladis Lopez

CAO

gylopez@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0829

Medieval and Early Modern Studies

Sally McKee

Director

sjmckee@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-1643

(530) 752-4541

Darla Tafoya

CAO

djtafoya@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-2269

Middle East/South Asia Studies

Smriti Srinivas

Director

ssrinivas@ucdavis.edu

Erum Syed

CAO

esyed@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-9036

Military Science

Lt. Col. Ryan Burkert

Chair

rtburkert@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-3056

Kathy Miner

CAO

keminer@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0760

Music

Henry Spiller

Chair

hjspiller@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-2603

Karen Nofziger

CAO

knofziger@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0138

Nanomaterials in the Environment, Agriculture and Technology

Alexandra Navrotsky

Director

anavrotsky@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-3292

Gladis Lopez

CAO

gylopez@math.ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0829

Native American Language Center

Justin Spence

Director

jspence@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-6492

Zoila Mendoza

Associate Director

zsmendoza@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-9283

Carlos Garcia

CAO

ccgarcia@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0675

Native American Studies

Zoila Mendoza

Chair

zsmendoza@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-9283

Carlos Garcia

CAO

ccgarcia@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0675

Philosophy

James Griesemer

Chair

jrgriesemer@ucdavis.edu

(530) 554-4396

Carmina Caselli

CAO

crcaselli@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-6215

Physical Education

Barbara Jahn

Director

bajahn@ucdavis.edu

(530) 756-5897

Nicole Morrill

Analyst

nbmorrill@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-9364

Physics

Robert Svoboda

Chair

svoboda@physics.ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-9610

Manuel Calderon

Vice Chair

mcalderon@ucdavis.edu

(530) 554-2209

John Conway

Vice Chair

jsconway@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-7639

Tracy Lade

CAO

tjlade@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-5891

Political Science

Erik Engstrom

Chair

ejengstrom@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-0956

Jessie Murray

CAO

jesmurray@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-2183

Psychology

Susan Rivera

Chair

chairpsych@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-9572

Lisa Oakes

Vice Chair

lmoakes@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-8304

Carmina Caselli

CAO

crcaselli@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-6215

Religious Studies

Archana Venkatesan

Chair

avenkatesan@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-2821 

Heavenly Clegg

CAO

hlclegg@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-0675

Science and Technology Studies

Colin Milburn

Director

cnmilburn@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-1696

Carmina Caselli

CAO

crcaselli@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-6215

Sociology

Ryken Grattet

Chair

rtgrattet@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-0772

Ming-Cheng Lo

Vice Chair

mmlo@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-0787

Erum Syed

CAO

esyed@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-9036

Spanish and Portuguese

Cecilia Colombi

Chair

cmcolombi@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-1244

Heavenly Clegg

CAO

hlclegg@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-6078

Statistics

Thomas Lee

Chair

tcmlee@ucdavis.edu

(530) 554-1357 

Alexander Aue

Vice Chair

aaue@ucdavis.edu

(530) 554-1555

Debashis Paul

Vice Chair

debpaul@ucdavis.edu

(530) 564-0513

Jie Peng

Vice Chair

jiepeng@ucdavis.edu

(530) 554-2566

Pete Scully

MSO

pscully@ucdavis.edu

(530) 692-5194

Taller arte del nuevo amanecer (TANA)

Maceo Montoya

Director

mbmontoya@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-2421

Carlos Garcia

CAO

ccgarcia@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0675

Theatre and Dance

David Grenke

Chair

dwgrenke@ucdavis.edu

 

Karen Nofziger

CAO

knofziger@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0138

University Writing Program

Carl Whithaus

Director

cwwhithaus@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0369

Darla Tafoya

CAO

djtafoya@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-2269