Chairs, CAOs and Directors

Find contact information for the chair, director or administrator in a department or program at the College of Letters and Science.


Humanities, Arts and Cultural Studies ◊ Mathematical and Physical Sciences ◊ Social Sciences


Humanities, Arts and Cultural Studies



African American and African Studies

Nicelma King

Director

njking@ucdavis.edu

 

Carlos Garcia

CAO

ccgarcia@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0675

American Studies

Julie Sze

Director

jsze@ucdavis.edu

(530) 852-3377

Carlos Garcia

CAO

ccgarcia@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0675

Art and Art History

Youngsuk Suh

Chair (Art Studio)

yssuh@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0105

Lynn Roller

Chair (Art History)

leroller@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-7801

Karen Nofziger

CAO

knofziger@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0138

Asian American Studies

Richard Kim

Chair

rskim@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-2069

Carlos Garcia

CAO

ccgarcia@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0675

California Lighting Technology Center

Michael Siminovitch

Director

mjsiminovitch@ucdavis.edu

(530) 747-3838

Konstantinos Papamichael

Co-Director

kpapamichael@ucdavis.edu

(530) 747-3838

Karen Nofziger

CAO

knofziger@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0138

Center for Transnational Health

Adela de la Torre

Director

adelatorre@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-2421

Linda Whent

Director of Post-Grant Awards

lswhent@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-2421

Carlos Garcia

CAO

ccgarcia@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0675

Chicana/Chicano Studies

Carlos Jackson

Chair

cfjackson@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-2421

Carlos Garcia

CAO

ccgarcia@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0675

Cinema and Digital Media

Michael Neff

Director

mpneff@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-9510

Karen Nofziger

CAO

knofziger@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0138

Classics

Rex Stem

Director

srstem@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-6060

Heavenly Clegg

CAO

hlclegg@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-6078

Comparative Literature

Sheldon Lu

Chair

shlu@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-8324

Heavenly Clegg

CAO

hlclegg@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-6078

Davis Language Center

Robert Blake

Director

rjblake@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-7153

Fuqiang Zhuo

Associate Director

fzhuo@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-1508

Design

Susan Avila

Chair

stavila@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-2004

Karen Nofziger

CAO

knofziger@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0138

Design Museum and Collection

Timothy McNeil

Director

tjmcneil@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-2589

Karen Nofziger

CAO

knofziger@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0138

East Asian Languages and Cultures

Beverly Bossler

Chair

bjbossler@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-3654

Heavenly Clegg

CAO

hlclegg@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-6078

English

John Marx

Chair

jmarx@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-1696

Darla Tafoya

CAO

djtafoya@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-2269

French and Italian

Noah Guynn

Chair

ndguynn@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-1219

Heavenly Clegg

CAO

hlclegg@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-6078

German and Russian

Sven-Erik Rose

Chair

serose@ucdavisl.edu

(530) 752-4999

Heavenly Clegg

CAO

hlclegg@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-6078

C. N. Gorman Museum and Collection

Hulleah Tsinhnahjinnie

Director

tsinhnahjinnie@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-6567

Carlos Garcia

CAO

ccgarcia@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0675

UC Davis Humanities Institute

Jaimey Fisher

Director

jrfisher@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-4999

Darla Tafoya

CAO

djtafoya@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-2269

Humanities Program

Eric Russell

Director

erussell@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-1219

Heavenly Clegg

CAO

hlclegg@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-6078

Medieval and Early Modern Studies

Claire Waters

Director

cmwaters@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-2257

Darla Tafoya

CAO

djtafoya@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-2269

Music

Carol Hess

Chair

cahess@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-2616

Karen Nofziger

CAO

knofziger@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0138

Native American Language Center

Justin Spence

Director

jspence@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-6492

Zoila Mendoza

Associate Director

zsmendoza@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-9283

Carlos Garcia

CAO

ccgarcia@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0675

Native American Studies

Zoila Mendoza

Chair

zsmendoza@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-9283

Carlos Garcia

CAO

ccgarcia@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0675

Religious Studies

Archana Venkatesan

Chair

avenkatesan@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-6295

Heavenly Clegg

CAO

hlclegg@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-0675

Spanish and Portuguese

Cecilia Colombi

Chair

cmcolombi@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0835

Heavenly Clegg

CAO

hlclegg@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-6078

Taller arte del nuevo amanecer (TANA)

Maceo Montoya

Director

mbmontoya@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-2421

Carlos Garcia

CAO

ccgarcia@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0675

Theatre and Dance

David Grenke

Chair

dwgrenke@ucdavis.edu@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-9211

Karen Nofziger

CAO

knofziger@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0138

University Writing Program

Carl Whithaus

Director

cwwhithaus@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0369

Darla Tafoya

CAO

djtafoya@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-2269

Gender, Sexuality and Women's Studies

Maxine Craig

Director

mbcraig@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-8642

Carlos Garcia

CAO

ccgarcia@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0675

Humanities, Arts and Cultural Studies ◊ Mathematical and Physical Sciences ◊ Social Sciences

Mathematical and Physical Sciences



Chemistry

Ting Guo

Chair

tguo@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-5283

Frank Osterloh

Vice Chair

osterloh@chem.ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-6242

David Goodin

Vice Chair

dbgoodin@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-5189

Neil Schore

Vice Chair

neschore@ucdavis.edu

(530)752-6263

Jared Shaw

Vice Chair

jtshaw@ucdavis.edu

(530)752-9979

Jessica Potts

MSO

jrpotts@ucdavis.edu

(530)752-3988

Earth and Planetary Sciences

Dawn Sumner

Chair

dysumner@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-5353

David Osleger

Vice Chair

daosleger@ucdavis.edu

(530)754-7824

Corinne Esser

MSO

caesser@ucdavis.edu

(530)752-3668

Mathematics

Dan Romik

Chair

romik@math.ucdavis.edu

(530)554-1498

Alex Soshnikov

Vice Chair

soshniko@math.ucdavis.edu

(530)554-9486

Timothy Lewis

Vice Chair

tlewis@math.ucdavis.edu

(530) 554-9394

Gladis Lopez

MSO

gylopez@ucdavis.edu

(530)752-0829

Nanomaterials in the Environment, Agriculture and Technology

Alexandra Navrotsky

Director

anavrotsky@ucdavis.edu

(530)752-3292

Gladis Lopez

MSO

gylopez@math.ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0829

Physics

Robert Svoboda

Chair

svoboda@physics.ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-9610

Manuel Calderon

Vice Chair

mcalderon@ucdavis.edu

(530) 554-2209

John Conway

Vice Chair

jsconway@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-7639

Tracy Lade

MSO

lade@physics.ucdavis.edu

(530) 554-1047

Statistics

Thomas Lee

Chair

tcmlee@ucdavis.edu

Patricia Aguilera

MSO

aguilera@wald.ucdavis.edu

(530) 554-4128

Alexander Aue

Vice Chair

aaue@ucdavis.edu

(530) 554-1555

Debashis Paul

Vice Chair

debpaul@ucdavis.edu

(530) 564-0513

Jie Peng

Vice Chair

jiepeng@ucdavis.edu

(530) 554-2566

Humanities, Arts and Cultural Studies ◊ Mathematical and Physical Sciences ◊ Social Sciences

Social Sciences



Anthropology

Lynne Isbell

Chair

laisbell@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-9718

Erum Syed

CAO

esyed@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-9036

Center for Mind and Brain

Steven Luck

Director

sjluck@ucdavis.edu

(530) 297-4424

Andrew Yonelinas

Associate Director

apyonelinas@ucdavis.edu

(530) 297-4651

Carmina Caselli

CAO

crcaselli@ucdavis.edu

(530) 297-4652

Center for Poverty Research

Ann Stevens

Director

annstevens@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-3034

Marianne Page

Deputy Director

mepage@ucdavis.edu

(530) 554-4940

Kathy Miner

CAO

keminer@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0760

Lupe Sanchez

Manager

gsanchez@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-4024

Center for Science and Innovation Studies

Mario Biagioli

Director

mbiagioli@ucdavis.edu

(510) 495-7324

Carmina Caselli

CAO

crcaselli@ucdavis.edu

(530) 297-4652

Cognitive Science

Bernard Molyneux

Director

molyneux@ucdavis.edu

(530) 554-4916

Carmina Caselli

CAO

crcaselli@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-6215

Communication

Robert Bell

Chair

rabell@ucdavis.edu

Jessie Murray

CAO

jesmurray@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-2183

East Asian Studies

Katharine Burnett

Director

kpburnett@ucdavis.edu

Kathy Miner

CAO

keminer@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0760

Economics

Giovanni Peri

Chair

gperi@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-0515

Kathy Miner

CAO

keminer@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0760

Hemispheric Institute on the Americas

Charles Walker

Director

cfwalker@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-9453

Kathy Miner

CAO

keminer@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0760

History

Edward Dickinson

Chair

erdickinson@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-1647

Andres Resendez

Vice Chair

aresendez@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-1649

Kathy Miner

CAO

keminer@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0760

Institute for Social Sciences

Joe Dumit

Director

jpdumit@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-1751

Vicky Austin

Assistant Director

vsaustin@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-1751

Jewish Studies

Diane Wolf

Director

dlwolf@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-1158

Kathy Miner

CAO

keminer@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0760

Linguistics

Vaidehi Ramanathan

Chair

vramanathan@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-9933

Jessie Murray

CAO

jesmurray@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-2183

Middle East/South Asia Studies

Smriti Srinivas

Director

ssrinivas@ucdavis.edu

Erum Syed

CAO

esyed@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-9036

Military Science

Brian Knieriem

Chair

knieriem@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-3056

Kathy Miner

CAO

keminer@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0760

Philosophy

James Griesemer

Chair

jrgriesemer@ucdavis.edu

(530) 554-4396

Carmina Caselli

CAO

crcaselli@ucdavis.edu

(530) 297-4652

Physical Education

Barbara Jahn

Director

bajahn@ucdavis.edu

(530) 756-5897

Nicole Morrill

Analyst

nbmorrill@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-9364

Political Science

John Scott

Chair

jtscott@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-8109

Jessie Murray

CAO

jesmurray@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-2183

Psychology

George R. Mangun

Interim Chair

psychair@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-1880

Lisa Oakes

Vice Chair

lmoakes@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-8304

Carmina Caselli

CAO

crcaselli@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-6215

Science and Technology Studies

Mario Biagioli

Director

mbiagioli@ucdavis.edu

(510) 495-7324

Carmina Caselli

CAO

crcaselli@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-6215

Sociology

Vicki Smith

Chair

vasmith@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-0782

Xiaoling Shu

Vice Chair

xshu@ucdavis.edu

Erum Syed

CAO

esyed@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-9036

Top