Deans' Advisory Council

The Deans’ Advisory Council is the primary volunteer advisory body for the College of Letters and Science, and is composed of civic, business, and education leaders drawn from the college’s alumni, donors, emeriti, and friends. The Council members support and advocate for the advancement of the College of Letters and Science at UC Davis, and specifically advise the deans on planning and implementing programs and initiatives in addition to the following:

  • Act as ambassadors for the college; learn about college strengths and challenges and share this information with the broader community. 
  • Help the college deans identify and recruit donor prospects. Review lists and help to introduce deans and college development staff to potential donors. 
  • Support the deans through annual membership in the Herbert A. Young Society or through equivalent annual support to a department or program in the college. 

The following members of the Deans’ Advisory council serve as advocates, advisors, and ambassadors for the College of Letters and Science:


Deans’ Advisory Council Chair

B.A., African American studies, ’83

Daryl Goss


'Super Lawyer' Gives Back

Chuck Louderback, history, ’76

Chuck Loderback

Kevin Bacon ’72

Brian Burwell ’72

Renée Child ’76

Joan DePaoli

Sundeep Dugar ’84

Darryl Goss ’83

Anne Gray

Jackson Gualco ’78

Bret Hewitt ‘76, '83

Diane Loranger, M.D.

Charles Louderback ’76


High Tech and Big Think

Tim McCarthy, international relations, economics '73

Tim McCarthy

Tim McCarthy ’73

Eldridge Moores

Nancy Roe

Bob Rotstan, Jr.

Joan Sallee

Patrick Sherwood ’87

Roy Shlemon

Supplemental content

Contact Us

College Relations & Development

One Shields Avenue
Social Science & Humanities Building
Davis CA, 95616

(530) 752-0394